Friday, 7 July 2017

It's just not cricket in fascinating industrial relations standoff

Aussie Rules football and Australian cricket make an interesting contrast when it comes to the views of their controllers when it comes to industrial relations. The commission that runs the AFL this year accepted the idea that the players who generate the income for the game were entitled to share directly in the proceeds. The board of Cricket Australia is steadfastly holding out for the principle that they, rather than any collective of players, should determine who gets what.
A look at the respective sporting boards of directors suggests a reason for the different approaches. Cricket Australia is made up largely of conventional directors who would be at home on the board of any conventional public company. The AFL Commission has a much broader spread of backgrounds.
The Cricket Australia team:
David Peever - Retired Managing Director of Rio Tinto. Non-Executive Director of the Australian Foundation Investment Company and the Melbourne Business School. Member of the Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council, Chief of Defence's Gender Equality Advisory Board and Federal Government’s Foreign Investment Review Board. Director of ICC.
Earl Eddings - Managing Director of The Riskcom Group, Earl was North Melbourne Cricket Club President from 2001 until November 2008. He was a Director of Cricket Victoria from 2006-2015 and held the position of Deputy Chairman from 2008-2015. Earl also served as Co-Chair of the Victorian Indigenous Cricket Advisory Committee.
Dr Bob Every AO - Recently retired as non-executive Chairman of Wesfarmers, one of Australia's largest public companies and retailers. He was previously Chairman of Boral Limited and Iluka Resources Limited. Bob is patron of the Sutherland District Cricket Club in Sydney.
John Harnden AM - Currently Chairman of the Australian Grand Prix Corporation and has an extensive background in sports, tourism and major events. Awarded the Order of Australia in 2007 for services to sport.
Tony Harrison - Cricket Australia Director since September 2002. Chairman and Managing Director of Corporate Communications (Tas.) Pty Ltd. Former Chairman of Cricket Tasmania, and a member of the Council of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
Jacquie Hey - Jacquie is a Non-executive Director on the Boards of Bendigo & Adelaide Bank, Qantas Airways Limited, Australian Foundation Investment Company Limited, Special Broadcasting Service (SBS).
Michael Kasprowicz - A former international cricketer who represented Australia in 83 matches, Michael is also a past president of the Australian Cricketers’ Association and past Board member of the Queensland Cricketers Club. Currently, Michael is a Board member of the Australia India Council, Director of Venture India Pty Ltd and a member of Opportunity International – Advisory Council.
Mark Taylor AO - Australia's 39th Test captain. Cricket Commentator with the Nine Network and Brand Ambassador for Fujitsu General. Former Cricket NSW director 1999-2012 and Foundation Director Sporting Chance Cancer Foundation.
Michelle Tredenick - An experienced company director and corporate advisor with more than 30 years’ experience in leading Australian businesses. Michelle is currently a Director of the Bank of Queensland and Canstar Pty Ltd, a Non-Executive Director of Urbis Pty Ltd and is Chairman of IAG NRMA Corporate Superannuation Trustee Board.
The AFL Commission team:
Richard Goyder - former CEO of Wesfarmers who served on the board of the Fremantle Football Club from 2006 to 2011
Paul Bassatt - founder of Seek and now investment banker
Kim Williams - former CEO of Foxtel and then News Limited
Major General Simone Louise Wilkie, AO - senior army officer
Jason Ball - a former Australian rules football player with the West Coast Eagles and Sydney Swans
Andrew Newbold - former president of the Hawthorn FC. Commercial lawyer and businessman
Gabrielle Trainor - an inaugural director of Greater Western Sydney FC, is a lawyer, journalist and public sector executive with a long family history in football with her father, Tony, and grandfather, Frank, both presidents of North Melbourne.
Post a Comment